Thanksgiving

I’m late on my Monday Musings. I should call it Monday Morning Musings because I like to get things off my chest, put it all behind me so I can get on with my week. But, today I’m going in reverse. I’ve been busy, editing, grading papers, and sending off a completed manuscript.

I got lost in those moments. Some were fun. Like editing a murder mystery. That is my kind of story. It had some humor in it, and the main character, she’s British, had some blonde moments. Loved her. And then, there was the moment I had to let a student know work submitted just didn’t make the grade. I mean not one-quarter of the assignment was completed. I hate giving bad news to students.

It suddenly hit me, as I was driving my niece home, I hadn’t posted today. And, of course, Thanksgiving came to mind. I said a prayer of thanks to God for the usual as I was pondering what to write about. You know, family, all of our health, because we pretty much suffer from minor issues, and that our family is near, we have a roof over our head, like I said, the usual.

Then, I thought about the times I kind of fuss about not finding work. I’m writing. I work as a freelance editor, and teach as an adjunct professor. So not getting rich anytime soon. And the number of classes is dwindling because here in Tennessee our governor has decided that high school graduates can get a free two year education at any community college. I am thankful that they have the opportunity, but I teach for a university, so students are jumping over to two year colleges.

But, then, it hit me. I never stop and be thankful for even the smallest of things. So, here’s a list.

I’m thankful for;

Having good enough eyesight, with my glasses to see the moon in a blue sky right before dusk.
Strong lungs to breathe in clean air through sinus and allergy problems.
Muscles to be able to dust, vacuum, clean the house.
People in my life that make me pause, get me out of my comfort zone, and put them first (my six grade girls I work with on Wednedays know who they are).
Having one parent alive, to cook a birthday dinner for.
While I have to use my credit cards to purchase food, I have money coming in to pay the bill.
I have time to work on my writing and further my editing because I teach online classes.
I can still get up in the morning, with just being a little stiff.
My military students who turn in late work, and their family that’s home supporting them.

I could add more, but I have so much to be thankful for that I leave you with your list of things you’re thankful for. I know you have them. Post them proudly.

Thank you for reading, and I hope you and yours are blessed this Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

