Monday Musing

I started decorating for Christmas the day after Thanksgiving. I put the tree up, sans ornaments for now. I put out a few silk poinsettia arrangements and some holiday candles.

It has been a while. Maybe I’m finally finished grieving. It’s the only thing I can think of that would make me actually welcome this season. You see, during this time of the year, mother and I planned Christmas dinner, days I had available to help, did we want to add something new to the menu, take away a dish that wasn’t eaten, and, as always, should we change the amount of food made. (The last one was a moot point because mom or dad would look at the serving size an pronounce it wasn’t enough).

I’m still not ecstatic over Christmas holidays. I’m not anxiously awaiting the arrival of every Christmas party I’ll be attending, or the food I’m preparing. And, I’m limiting holiday baking to keep here at home to just two items.  But, I’m not Mrs. Scrooge this year either.

So, I’ve made progress. Progress that I am content and can live with.

Leave a Reply

